The Council of Reference

The Directors have approached a number of individuals from a wide spectrum of interest from around the world to offer their support to the Foundation by becoming members of a Council of Reference. As is in keeping with the Foundation’s aims to promote OPLANs as being in everyone’s interest, some Members of the Council of Reference are eminent in their field and enjoy a worldwide reputation – others will only be known to those in their immediate circle but all share a common commitment to the aims and objectives of The OPLAN Foundation. The following are members of the Council of Reference. (in alphabetical order)

Gordon Adgey Community Broadband pioneer and founder of Buckfastleigh Broadband (United Kingdom)
Helen Anderson Founder, Community Network South Lincolnshire (United Kingdom)
Lindsey Annison Founder Digital Dales and UK Access to Broadband Campaign (ABC), Membership services Director of CBN (United Kingdom)
Alistair Banks New Forest Community Broadband (United Kingdom)
Piers Bearne Founder of The Wireless LAN Event – world’s biggest wireless broadband exhibition (United Kingdom)
John Blundell Director General Institute of Economic Affairs – independent free-market think-tank (United Kingdom)
Bob Bryce Business Development Director, Networks by Wireless Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Dr. Sebastian Buettrich Community broadband pioneer and free-networks advocate. Co-Founder/ (Denmark )
Prof. Dr. Clemens Cap Professor of Computer Science University of Rostock (Germany )
Jonathan Cape M. Director, Renew Services Ltd (United Kingdom)
Dr. Peter Cochrane Co-Founder and Director Concept Labs, Former Technology Director, British Telecom (United Kingdom)
Dr. Brian Condon CEO – Complexity Group (United Kingdom)
Malcolm Corbett CEO of Community Broadband Network (United Kingdom)
Prof. Dr. Susan Crawford Asst Professor of Law, Cardozo School of Law, New York and telecom regulatory expert (United States )
David Easton Managing Director, Evolution Systems Ltd – wireless distributor (United Kingdom)
Dr. Peer Ederer Associate Prof Strategy at The Strategy Academy (Netherlands )
James Enck European Telecom Analyst and creator of EuroTelcoblog (United Kingdom)
Mark Fisher Free market advocate and former Chairman of Globalkom (United Kingdom)
Laura Forlano Ph.D. Candidate in Communications at Columbia University and board member of NYCwireless (United States )
Faisal Galaria Business Development Director, Skype (United Kingdom)
Martin Geddes Global Telecoms Consultant, and creator of the hugely successful Telepocalypse blog (United Kingdom)
Ian Grey Telecommunications project specialist (United Kingdom)
Prof. Dr. John Groenewegen Professor of the Economics of Infrastructures, Erasmus University Rotterdam and Delft University of Technology (Netherlands )
Prof. Prabhu Guptara Director, Organisational & Executive Development, Wolfsberg Executive Development Centre of UBS (Switzerland )
Frank Hansen Founder of ‘Stiftung bridge – Bürgerrechte in der digitalen Gesellschaft’, Germany, (Germany )
Dewayne Hendricks CEO Dandin Group (United States )
Dr. Angela Hey President, Techviser, Palo Alto, California, former development strategist, Bell Laboratories (United States )
William Jones CEO Global Village Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Kevin Jones Founder Osney Consulting (United Kingdom)
Guy Kewney Widely syndicated PC and computing freelance writer journalist (United Kingdom)
Timothy King Founder and CEO, Public Benefit Broadband Inc. Chairman/Executive Director (United States )
Tomas Krag Partner at consulting firm and ‘open tech’ evangelist (Denmark )
Matthias Kreplien Founder and Managing Director, Berlin Compunet and now independent consultant (Germany )
Aydin Kurt-Elli CEO of Lumison – Scotland leading internet service provider (United Kingdom)
Dr. Rolf Künneke Faculty of Technology Policy and Management – Technical University of Delft (Netherlands )
Drew Ladner Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Zuri Technology, former Chief Information Officer, US Treasury Department (United States )
Edward Leigh Former UK Minister of Telecommunications, Member of Parliament, Westminster and former Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (United Kingdom)
Wolter Lemstra Senior Research Fellow Economics of Infrastructures TUDelft, fdirector LIRNE.NET, former VP Lucent Technologies (Netherlands )
Nico Macdonald Independent consultant and writer on IT (United Kingdom)
Alistair McGrath Director Cisco Systems (United Kingdom)
Dr. David McNally Technology Director Quadriga Worldwide Ltd (United Kingdom)
Prof. Arun Mehta Professor, JMIT Radaur. CTO, Radiophony. (India )
Prof. Dr. William Melody Managing Director, LIRNE.NET (Denmark )
Richard Mendel-Black Founder and Director The Dymaxion Web (United States )
Rod Mitchell Director, Horsetiger (United Kingdom)
Donnie Morrison MBE Work Global, Western Isles Connected Communities broadband wireless network (United Kingdom)
Kenneth Murricane Director Murricane & Associates Ltd. (United Kingdom)
François Ménard Project manager – Xit Telecom (Canada)
Dianah Neff Chief Information Officer, City of Philadelphia, Mayor’s Office of Information Services (United States )
Dr. Phil O’Donovan Co-Founder and Commercial Director – Canbridge Silicon Radio plc (United Kingdom)
Fred Pook Wireless Broadband pioneer in India. Founder and (India )
Prof. Dr. Andrew Quicke Chair of Cinema and TV, Regent University, Virginia USA (United States )
Paul Randle-Jolliffe Founder – Isle of Wight (United Kingdom)
Prof. Dr. Bharat Rao Associate Professor of Management, Polytechnic University, New York, specialising in telecoms (United States )
Simon Rendell Practice Group Head and Partner, Osborne Clarke (United Kingdom)
Lord Renwick President, European Information Society Group (EURIM) (United Kingdom)
Richard Rymill Organisers of Broadband, Entrepreneur & Digital Conferences and seminars across the UK. See our next event at (United Kingdom)
Dr. Tomas Sabol Dean of Technical University of Kosice Slovakia. (Slovakia (Slovak Republic))
Ron Sege President and CEO Tropos Networks Inc. (United States )
William (Bill) Shuffstall Sr. Extension Educator – Economic Community Development , Penn State University (United States )
Morten Singleton Director Telecommunications Research – Investec Bank (United Kingdom)
Chris Smedley Managing Director Geo – UK’s only national fibre network dedicated to infrastructure exploitation (United Kingdom)
John Smith Director of the Telecommunications Department at Chelan County PUD USA (United States )
James Stevens Open Access network pioneer and director of (United Kingdom)
Dr. Richard Sykes Former Group Vice-President IT, ICI Chairman, Outsourcing Group, Intellect (United Kingdom)
David Talbot Community Broadband Campaigner (United Kingdom)
Mostafa Terrab Director General, Group OCP and Former Manager of the Information for Development (infoDev) Program at The World Bank (Morocco )
Dr. Rahul Tongia Asst. Research Professor. Carnegie Mellon (United States )
Herman Wagter Director – CityNet, Amsterdam, the Netherlands (Netherlands )
Michael Webster Of Counsel – IT and Intellectual Property lawyer, former partner Kirkpatrick & Lockhart, Nicholson Graham LLP(lawyers) London (United Kingdom)
John Wilson Co-Founder of Access to Broadband Campaign. Former chair of Welsh Broadband Stakeholders Group (United Kingdom)
Erol Ziya Founder, Campaign for Unmetered Telecommunications of executive member of ABC (Cyprus)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>